Research + initiatives

We undertake special initiatives to advance the mission of serving as a beacon for the cultural, artistic and educational resources in the region.


ArtsWork unites ASU artists and scholars with community leaders in research and programs focused on children and the arts. ArtsWork was created in 1996 with an endowment from Katherine K. Herberger. ArtsWork received a million dollar endowed gift from Bank of America in 2007. These generous gifts provide ArtsWork with resources to initiate and sustain numerous projects benefiting young people in the greater Phoenix area. Currently ArtsWork is undergoing a re-visioning process and thorough program evaluation under the leadership of youth invested faculty from all units in the Herberger Institute. We look forward to unveiling ArtsWork 2.0 in the near future. All ongoing programming continues but no new programs will be initiated.

One of our ArtsWork programs is Place: Vision and Voice (PVV). PVV is a community-based, digital storytelling and performance residency in the ASU Herberger Institute School of Film, Dance and Theatre. Working together, community participants and collaborating artists create and edit multi-media performance collages incorporating music, graphics, video, creative movement, creative writing and scripted presentation. The finished pieces are presented to the community and used as catalysts for dialogue, youth feedback on critical issues and candid conversations. PVV provides a distinct, non-threatening forum focused on the assets, strengths and experiences children bring to their communities.

Have questions

Evan Tobias
Associate Professor
School of Music