Herberger Institute

More Student and Alumni News

Arts, Media + Engineering
Theatre and Film


Search Student and Alumni News


Bookmark and Share RSS Feed

Student and Alumni News

Student and Alumni News is a great resource for everyone to quickly discover what is happening with individual Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts students and alumni.

Enza Giannone Hosig, Graduate, Theatre and Film

Enza Giannone Hosig, Ph.D. candidate in theatre (Theatre for Youth) in the School of Film, Dance and Theatre in the Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts, was recently named this year's Winifred Ward Scholar by the American Alliance for Theatre and Education. This award is named after Winifred Ward, the pioneer of children’s theatre and creative drama in the United States. The scholarship is awarded annually by the Winifred Ward Memorial Fund, Inc. (WWMF), to a graduate-level scholar of demonstrated intellectual and artistic ability in child drama/theatre. Nominees are judged on the basis of scholarship, faculty recommendations, indication of strong professional interest and growth, successful performance in some aspect of children's theatre or creative drama work and other criteria. In addition, the candidate should indicate a professional interest in pursuing career goals consistent with the legacy of Winifred Ward. The scholar is selected by the Winifred Ward Scholarship Committee, appointed by the WWMF Board. Enza was pleased to represent the Herberger Institute and TFY program during the conference in Washington, D.C. She is incredibly humbled by her professor's nomination and honored to have received this prestigious award for excellence in a field she loves so dearly.

Project Date: Jul 1, 2014



Asantewa Sunni-Ali, Graduate, Theatre and Film

Asantewa Sunni-Ali, a fourth-year Theatre for Youth doctoral candidate in ASU's School of Film, Dance and Theatre in the Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts, recently received the American Theatre and Drama Society's "Emerging Scholar Award" at the 2013 Annual Association for Theatre in Higher Education Conference. The awarded essay, "Playing New Afrikan: Performance as Pedagogy at Camp Pumziko," explores the collective recitations of New Afrikan chants, oaths and pledges as performative speech acts which serve as instruction methods to produce and re-produce young New Afrikan subjects. This work extends from
her larger dissertation project, which examines the intersections of childhood, New Afrikanity, performance and agency.

Project Date: Aug 1, 2013



Film students win more contests, Alumni, Theatre and Film

Photo: From the ASU student film,

ASU School of Theatre and Film students continue to win acclaim at national student film festivals with three films taking awards at the Campus MovieFest in Hollywood June 21-23.

The festival celebrates the top student films from across the globe and has ASU film students within reach of attaining their 15 into 50 goal to place at least 15 ASU School of Theatre and Film student films in 50 national-level competitions this year.

The films to be screened at the Campus MovieFest are:
-Peeception, directors Dallas Campbell and Brandon Johnson, which won first place; Blood Money, directors Jonathan Millard with Logan Highlen, Rosemary Talavera and Tim Valdisera, which won Best Drama; Miles to Math, directed by Andrew Franz and Treve Heltemes, Best Comedy.

Nine other films written, directed, produced, crewed and in some cases acted by School of Theatre and Film students have also been screened in student film festivals for the 2011-2012 academic year with some earning top awards.

Those include:

The Understudy, Director Hayley Kosan, Best Director (Hayley Kosan) and Best Cinematography (Ryan Zweig), Columbia University National Undergraduate Film Festival; Top 20 Fan Favorites, SeeFlik.com Film Festival.

"Once again, we see the extraordinary work our students are capable of here at ASU,” says F. Miguel Valenti, Lincoln Professor of Ethics and the Arts and founder of the film and media production program. “The growing number of national awards is testimony to their talent, our faculty and our program. We are very proud."

Project Date: Jun 21, 2012



Previous  | Next